Membership

All residents of the Municipality of DeSalaberry and the Village of St-Pierre-Jolys are invited to become members of the library. You can simply come to the library with a piece of identification and fill out an application. We ask all members to advise us of any changes in their address and telephone number.

Non-residents are also welcome to use our services. An annual membership fee of $40 is charged.

We encourage parents to register their children under the age of 18 years as members of the library as we feel this teaches them skills necessary to manage a library account, a tool which will be useful to them later on in life. By doing so, parents accept responsibility for the reading and viewing selections made by their child and for any losses or damages incurred by the child towards any property or materials owned by the library.

Loan limits

The following loan durations apply, with a possibility of renewing to a maximum of two times: exceptions to this rule are if the article is new or if someone has reserved it. In these cases, loan limits will not be renewable and materials will be due at the end of the current loan period.

  • DVD’s – 1 week
  • Videocassettes – 1 week
  • CD’s – 2 weeks
  • Periodicals – 3 weeks
  • Books – 3 weeks
Late returns

The library does not impose fines at this time and wishes to continue with this system. The Jolys Regional Library relies on the good faith of its clients to respect the library’s property and to respect fellow patrons by returning all library property in due time.

The library encourages our patrons to take note of the loan limits and to always return their borrowed articles on time. It is possible to request extensions over the phone, preferably before the current loan period’s expiration date.

Inappropriate Web Sites

In the event that a patron looks or visits an inappropriate Web site that was accessed from any computers at the library, the following consequences will be in order:

  • 1st incident : inaccessibility to the computers for a period of three months;
  • 2nd incident : inaccessibility to the computers for a period of one year.
Gifts

Gifts of books and other materials are welcomed by the Library, but with the understanding that they will not necessarily be added to the collection. The same standards of selection pertaining to the purchase of materials from library funds are also applicable to gifts. All books that are given and that are not put into circulation will be handed over to charitable organizations.

Cash donations are gratefully accepted. Since the Library is considered a charitable organization (registration number: 89254 0568 RR001), an official receipt for income tax purposes can be issued upon request.

L’adhésion à la bibliothèque

L’adhésion à la bibliothèque est offerte à tous les résidants de la Municipalité DeSalaberry et du Village de St-Pierre-Jolys. Veuillez vous présenter avec une pièce d’identité à la bibliothèque afin de remplir le formulaire nécessaire. Nous demandons à nos membres de nous faire part immédiatement de tous changements à leur coordonnées.

Le coût pour utiliser les services de la bibliothèque pour les non résidants est de 50$ par année.

Nous encouragerons les parents à inscrire leurs enfants de moins de 18 ans comme membres de la bibliothèque, puisqu'apprendre à gérer un compte de bibliothèque est une habileté qui leur sera utile plus tard. En inscrivant leur enfant, les parents acceptent toute responsabilité relative aux choix de matériaux de lecture et de matériaux visuels sortis par leur enfant. Ils prennent aussi responsabilité pour tout dommage de matériaux empruntés par l’enfant.

Durée des limites d’emprunt

Les durées d’emprunt suivantes s’imposent, avec possibilité de renouveler deux fois au maximum, à moins que l’article soit nouveau ou qu’un autre membre en ait fait la réservation. Dans ces cas, il ne sera pas renouvelable et sera dû à la fin de la période d’emprunt en cours.

  • DVD – 1 semaine
  • Vidéocassettes – 1 semaine
  • Disques compacts – 2 semaines
  • Périodiques – 3 semaines
  • Livres – 3 semaines
Articles en retard

Nous n’imposons pas d’amendes à ce temps et nous souhaitons pouvoir continuer de cette façon. La bibliothèque se fie à la bonne volonté de ses clients de faire preuve de respect envers la propriété de la bibliothèque et envers les autres clients, en retournant les articles par la date limite. Il est possible de faire les demandes de renouvellement par téléphone mais il est préférable de le faire avant la limite d’emprunt.

Sites Internet inappropriés

Dans le cas où un client visite des sites Web inappropriés à partir d’ordinateurs retrouvés à la bibliothèque, les conséquences suivantes s’appliqueront :

  • 1re incident : perte de droits d’accès aux ordinateurs pour une période de trois mois
  • 2e incident : perte de droits d’accès aux ordinateurs pour une période d’un an.
Dons

Nous acceptons toujours des livres usagés avec l’entente que nous réservons le droit de décider si nous placerons ces livres sur les étagères de la bibliothèque. Le même standard de sélection utiliser pour l’achat de nouveautés s’applique pour les livres usagés. Les livres qui ne sont pas mis en circulation seront remis à des oeuvres de bienfaisance.

Les dons d’argent sont aussi très appréciés. Étant donné que la bibliothèque est un organisme de bienfaisance (numéro d’enregistrement : 89254 0568 RR001, un reçu officiel vous sera accordé pour fin d’impôt si désirez.